top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRuthann

writers Toolbox

My writers toolbox is filled with many helpful things. In this class, the week-by-week breakdown is something I reference if I ever have a question about the assignments. Since many of my classes have a similar breakdown, my time management system is a lot easier to create. I work a part-time job Monday through Friday from 7 a.m. to noon. As a result, it is very important for me to know exactly what I need to do in each class every day to get everything done in a timely manner. My planner helps me achieve this. I’m constantly writing, erasing, and editing it. It keeps me on target and holds me accountable. It is very satisfying to strike through everything that I’ve completed. The reminder app on my phone is also very helpful. If I have an assignment or something that I am concerned I will forget, I can count on it to remind me. I usually always have my phone on me or in my backpack so the chances are low that I miss a reminder.

Twitter is another resource in my toolbox. It is insanely informative. It is so easy to reach out to other classmates or to help others. Other things that I look forward to using in my toolbox that I haven’t yet are the citation tools, the textbook, and the library.

Google is another thing I include in my routine. I can always count on it to double check a fact or look up a reference. For relaxation while writing, I have an acoustic playlist that I listen to on Spotify. I enjoy having sounds in the background as I work. On a side note, I’m left-handed, so I don’t like pens, but one of my favorite pencils to write with is a Pentel click-twist-erase pencil. I don’t know why, but writing with it always makes me feel like a business professional. Additionally, if I’m ever confused on a big assignment or paper, I shoot a quick text or email to my mom and use her to bounce around ideas. She gives me great advice and feedback.

Overall, my writers routine is pretty organized. I look forward to using it when writing assignments in this course.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Twitter peeps

I chose a variety of personalities to follow on Twitter. From Stephen King to Taylor Swift they are had unique characteristics. All of these people had similar but different approaches to express thei

Spring break narratives

Over spring break I had the pleasure of re-watching a classic crime show, Monk. Amazon prime recently uploaded the show on their website and I dove right in. In this show Adrian Monk is a renowned det

friends

I choose a clip from the sitcom Friends as my example of a logical fallacy. In the third episode of the second season, Ross and Phoebe get into a heated argument about evolution. She believes its "too

bottom of page