top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRuthann

Twitter

Tweeting to companies proved harder than I expected. It surprised me that writing them was both easy and hard at the same time. I knew exactly what companies I wanted to communicate with and looked forward to seeing their responses. However, actually putting together my tweets was tough. I struggled with figuring out how to get their attention.


At first, I started with a hometown favorite. Metro Diner is a popular breakfast and brunch place in Jacksonville since I was a little girl. I just suggested they open one here since they are branching out. I heard crickets. This frustrated me because I know they are always on social media and aren't a huge company so it shouldn't be hard to get their attention. Then, I tried to use humor with Netflix. Still heard nothing. Finally, chipotle responded. It was unexpected. They have a great social media relations team. I saw that some other students had commented about chipotle and got responses as well. Even though this is an assignment it made me feel good that I had captured their attention. If I ever need to in the future I know they will reply. Then, Bare Minerals they simply liked my tweet. Again, for such a large corporation to even respond in a minor way was huge to me. Lulu Lemon Athletica also responded to me a minute after my tweet and that was quite shocking. Especially because it was after hours.


As of now, none of the other seven companies I reached out to have responded. I guess it is a learning process. If they do respond I will be happy but if not I am not worried. They aren't obligated to respond. Though, I do have to say that I am more likely to re-shop at these stores that took the time to reply. It shows that they really care about how their brand viewed by customers. For the other companies, I won't hold it against them. Maybe another time and another tactic will better suit them.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Twitter peeps

I chose a variety of personalities to follow on Twitter. From Stephen King to Taylor Swift they are had unique characteristics. All of these people had similar but different approaches to express thei

Spring break narratives

Over spring break I had the pleasure of re-watching a classic crime show, Monk. Amazon prime recently uploaded the show on their website and I dove right in. In this show Adrian Monk is a renowned det

friends

I choose a clip from the sitcom Friends as my example of a logical fallacy. In the third episode of the second season, Ross and Phoebe get into a heated argument about evolution. She believes its "too

bottom of page