top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRuthann

Narrative weakness

In movies and books I love the build-up to a happy ending. A cheesy romance is right up my ally. I am a sucker for true love and the drama that follows it. A classic example of my achilles heel is Sweet Home Alabama. I could watch it over and over again with no shame. I can quote the scene “why do you wanna marry me anyhow” in my sleep.


In books, I enjoy romance as well. One of my favorite books that I’ve read multiple times is Redeeming Love. It’s a thick book, but once you start it you can’t put it down. A story of love and loss as a prostitute in the 1800’s is pursued by a man she believes is too good to be true. Shows are a little different though. I am obsessed with crime TV shows like Criminal Minds, Bones, or Law and Order. I love discovering who did the crime and why. However, it’s weird that I like crime shows because I hate horror movies. Too scary!


My music taste is all over the place. I grew up on country music but also enjoy the occasional pop. I could listen to music from to 70’s and 80’s all day. I think it stems from my short lived obsession with 16 Candles. My dad also influenced my music taste because he listens to artists like Warren Zevon, Alabama Shakes and Waylon Jennings. I enjoy variety. It depends on who I’m with, where I am, what we are doing, and my mood, but overall I’m open to anything.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Twitter peeps

I chose a variety of personalities to follow on Twitter. From Stephen King to Taylor Swift they are had unique characteristics. All of these people had similar but different approaches to express thei

Spring break narratives

Over spring break I had the pleasure of re-watching a classic crime show, Monk. Amazon prime recently uploaded the show on their website and I dove right in. In this show Adrian Monk is a renowned det

friends

I choose a clip from the sitcom Friends as my example of a logical fallacy. In the third episode of the second season, Ross and Phoebe get into a heated argument about evolution. She believes its "too

bottom of page